Buffalohair, When I Sip Tea with Suu Kyi and Thein Sein in Naypyidaw

When I Sip Tea with Suu Kyi and Thein Sein in Naypyidaw

Only when I am sipping tea with Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and Thein Sein in Naypyidaw will I believe change has finally come to Burma. In fact I would love to have a radio show in Burma when she is finally free. Sadly, as of now it’s still the same old thing where the junta is using the political prisoners as a tool of manipulation. Knowing everyone in power was personally selected by Than Shwe and still held accountable to him also casts a shadow on all the alleged positive change. Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has already eluded to the fact we must stay vigilant as Burma acts like its moving towards democracy. After all, she is the boss not all these non profiteers around the world and I take my marching orders from her only.

 

This prisoner release thing happened before and just because Thein Sein went to China over the dam issue still means little. China could easily be a party to this rouse and it would not be the first time. Knowing the theatrics the junta is known for makes me even more suspicious and I still worry for Suu Kyi’s life because everyone is getting complacent. With my brothers and sisters in Kachin State under siege while junta troops continue to rape and pillage also sheds a dark cloud on the so called progress in Burma. How can there be change when people are still dying because of their ethnicity? My friends are still in the jungle fighting for their very existence. That’s not change, that’s just a smoke screen.

 

I read all these fluffy stories about Burma’s change but in all actuality I smell a rat in the rice bin. I want to be wrong in the worst way but I fear this is just another elaborate Than Shwe scheme since it has his finger prints all over it. Only when Than Shwe is rotting away will I believe change has come to Burma. His spell would be broken and his generals can finally move the country in a positive direction. They would no longer have to live under threat of demotion or prison either. If only his astrologers told him the truth of his journey in the after life then maybe he would have instilled real change in Burma before he died. Sadly, he faces an eternity of retribution and so do his henchmen.

 

Earlier this year I spoke to constituents with a message from Than Shwe, they asked me to write something positive about Burma. In return I said I would if Uncle Than would actually do something positive and gave me proof. I’m still waiting for his response and he knows how to contact me personally. Like I told Aung and Margaret; “Tell Uncle Than to give me some proven facts and I will give him and the junta the greatest write up I can muster if these changes are real and I would spread it around the world” Making peace with all the ethnic minorities such as the Shan, Kachin, Mon, Karen, Wa and a host of other tribes would be a great start. The political prisoners should have been released years ago when he opened up the prisons back then.

 

Now I am hearing the same rhetoric coming out of Thein Sein’s mouth and it reeks of Than Shwe’s handiwork plain and simple. Will the 6,000 plus prisoners contain all political prisoners or just a hand full people near death? It was sad to note the last prisoner release contained murderers, drug dealers, rapists and other thugs while ignoring most of the political prisoners. I really want to be wrong about Thein Sein and all his lip service, I really do.

 

Only when I can smell shrimp paste in the air while having a chat with Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and Thein Sein in Naypyidaw will I believe change has finally come to my beloved Burma.

 

Come on Uncle Than; let Burma live once again and take it’s rightful place in the world as the economic powerhouse it should be.

 

Your Devil’s Advocate
Buffalohair

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

